August 31, 2018

Jahri Evans Inducted into Wall of Distinction

Former Bloomsburg University football star and NFL great Jahri Evans ’07 was inducted into the university’s Wall of Distinction on Friday, Aug. 31, in a ceremony on campus. Located near the fountain on BU’s Academic Quadrangle, the Bloomsburg University Wall of Distinction recognizes donors who have contributed $1 million or more to the university.

Evans recently committed $500,000 for a new LED video scoreboard for Danny Hale Field at Redman Stadium after previously contributing $500,000 to the First & Goal Campaign to endow a football scholarship.

“On behalf of the entire BU family, I thank Jahri Evans for his generous gift in support of a new scoreboard,” said BU president Bashar W. Hanna. “He has been a passionate donor to the university for many years and we are grateful to Jahri not only for his support of this project, but also his previous support of academic scholarships for students in financial need.”

On the field, Evans was one of the most decorated offensive linemen to put on a Bloomsburg football jersey. He went on to have a prolific career in the National Football League, primarily playing for the New Orleans Saints. With the Saints, he earned a Super Bowl championship ring for the 2009 season, was a six-time Pro Bowl player, and voted First Team All-Pro four times. He spent the 2017 season with the Green Bay Packers.

Evans took over as a full-time starter on the Huskies’ offensive line in 2003, but it was in 2004 that the awards started rolling in for the left tackle. He was an American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) First Team All-American as a junior while earning Second Team All-American honors from both the Associated Press and from the Don Hansen Football Gazette. Then, as a senior in 2005, he went on to earn First Team All-American honors from five different organizations – the AFCA, Daktronics, Don Hansen Football Gazette, Associated Press, and He was also a finalist for the Gene Upshaw Award, which honors the nation's top lineman in Division II, in each of his last two seasons.

He earned both the Danny Litwhiler Award as Bloomsburg’s Male Underclass Athlete of the Year in 2005 and the Robert B. Redman Award as Bloomsburg's Male Senior Athlete of the Year in 2006.
View All

Related Stories

SEKISUI partners with Bloomsburg University to bring a Professional Experience Lab downtown

The Bloomsburg University Foundation announces that SEKISUI SPI made a $500,000 gift to construct a state-of-the-art professional experience workspace for students in downtown Bloomsburg.

Read More

$2.2 Million Gift to BU Charts a Course Forward for Foster Children

A $2.2 million gift will provide youth from the Pennsylvania foster care system with the opportunity to explore educational experiences on the Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania campus.

Read More

Supporting Impact Beyond the Classroom

Since the launch of BU’s Professional U initiative in 2012, more than 100 alumni and friends have been inspired to support the university in preparing students to apply their education beyond the classroom. On Thursday, Jan. 31, the university recognized the breadth of that impact and generosity with the announcement of the 2019 faculty fellowships and endowed professorships.

Read More

Website by MoJo Active