November 14, 2014

University Wall of Distinction Unveiled

The newly-created University Wall of Distinction, recognizing current and past donors whose lifetime support of $1 million or more benefits BU students, was unveiled in a special ceremony held Friday. 

During the ceremony, led by Dr. David Soltz, University President, 18 benefactors were honored with permanent plaques and given bronze medallions in recognition of their longstanding commitment to Bloomsburg University.

Joining Dr. Soltz was Erik Evans, Vice President for University Advancement, Pat Mica, Class of 1967, Chair of the Bloomsburg University Foundation, and Pat Wilson, Class of 1991, Chair of the Bloomsburg University Council of Trustees. Friends, alumni, faculty, students and staff gathered for the ceremony in honor of the following individuals, families, organizations and foundations:


2014 University Wall of Distinction Honorees

Mitrani Family Foundation

Drew ’76 and Susan Hostetter

Jack L. Mertz ’42

Terry H. ’76 and JoAnn Schultz ’77 Zeigler

Thomas J. ’65 and Cecelia Mistal ’66 Toth

Norman F. Watts ’59

Barbara Benner Hudock ’75

Robert D. Warren

Fred G. Smith

Community Government Association

Barbara Dilworth

Duane R. ’72 and Susan Basar ’72 Greenly

Michael L. ’85 and Beth Boguski

Stephan M. Pettit ’89

Degenstein Foundation

Susan W. McDowell

John E. Morgan Foundation

Betty Smith-Cooley

The collective impact of these individuals is significant and remarkable. These donors represent more than $25 million in gifts; gifts which continue to have a tremendous impact on the entire campus community. Through the contributions of these 18 individuals, families, foundations and organizations:        

  •  More than 3,000 scholarship awards have been given in support of hundreds of BU students.

  •  Their gifts have built and renovated buildings all over campus, including the Andruss Library, the Warren Student Service Center, Sutliff Hall, Steph Pettit Stadium, and others.

  •  This group has created and sustained hundreds of programs that have provided experiential learning opportunities, professional development, and valuable classroom experiences for our faculty, students and staff. 

Their thoughtful and generous giving has enhanced the BU experience for thousands of students and will continue to benefit thousands more for years to come.

BU donors play a critical role in the university’s future and it is important to recognize each and every one. The Wall of Distinction is just one example of the efforts being made to thank our donors for the impact their support has on BU’s students.

View All

Related Stories

Giving Back Before They Go

More than 325 Bloomsburg University spring 2022 graduates participated in this year’s Senior Class Gift Campaign. That’s just over 20% of the graduating class!

Read More

Craig Diehl '82 Honored for $1.5 million gift to create Center for Law School Preparation at Bloomsburg University

Bloomsburg University and the Bloomsburg University Foundation recently held a dedication ceremony to honor the generosity of Craig A. Diehl '82 and celebrate his gift to create the Diehl Center for Law School Preparation.

Read More

Website by MoJo Active